"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The argument that increasing the time of weather and local news will help to attract more viewers and advertisers to the program is not completely sound, because it fails to address the already raised assumptions. Furthermore, the argument is full of holes and unwarranted assumption, lacking support for its conclusion.

First, the author assumes that the growth in advertisement revenue is directly proportional to the increase in weather/local news. But that may not be necessarily true if the advertisers had been more concerned about the season of their business rather than type of program shown. If they were to invest in advertisement only in certain period of year, increasing the weather and local news is no longer going to aid new improvement.

Furthermore, it may be the case where national news viewers were not much concerned about the program to make complain.There might be more numbers of national news viewers who didn't complain though their interest were not focused by the program. But the less numbers ofThus, the complain received was only by the less number of people who only favoured local/weather news.

Similarly, the local advertisers who advertised during late night may only compromise of negligible amount of advertisement revenue than the one who adversised during day. So, attracting those lost advertsers to the program back again may not yield any significant increase.

Finally, the author assumes that there are no other possibility for decrease in viewers and advertisers. The time devoted by viewers during late-night program might have been reduced due to factors such as loadshedding or problem faced by channel supplier during night.Similarly, for the same reason the advertisers had canceled their contracts.

Thus , the evidence provide for the support of authors conclusion that increasing the time of weather and local news will help to attract more viewers and advertisers, does little to prove for the conclusion. However the author could have strengthened the argument if he could provide the necessary evidence to support the unwarranted assumptions mentioned above. To strengthen the argument, author shouldprovide a valid evidence that there was no any cause for decrease in viewers and ads revenue, that the national niews viewers were equally concerned as other viewers to complain if they were unsatisfied with program and that the revenue obtained from late night advertisers were not negligible before.