"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island&#03

The argument that the plan to limit the numbers of moped rented will successfully reduce the number of accidents in Balmer Island is not completely sound since it makes certain unwarranted assumptions. The plan carried out in Torseu may not be successful in Balmer.

First, the argument assumes an analogy that the resident of Balmer is as trained as the residents in Torseu in driving. Probably the Balmer island is loose in terms of issuing license due to which many untrained riders are present due to which the number of accidents is high in the case of Balmer.

Next, the argument assumes that moped accidents in Balmer caused due to the numbers of mopeds burgeoning on the island and neglects the possibility that the accidents are caused due to improper management of traffic signals in the street and less strict traffic rules due to which the residents violate the traffic rules. This may have led to more accidents on the island although the number of mopeds would be present in manageable numbers.

Similarly, the argument is based on the reports that don't have enough reliability as it doesn't necessarily need to be true that the accident was reduced in Torseu due to implementation reduction in a moped. Maybe the roads were made widen or any other new development plans in city traffic was brought due to which the accident had significantly slashed.

Finally, the argument makes a dogmatic assumption and neglects the possibility that all of the population already own the moped in advance and decreasing the number of mopeds was not going to affect the number of moped traffic on the island.

Thus, the argument is not logically convincing. The evidence to support the conclusion that implementing the exact same plan to limit the number of mopeds rented will considerably reduce the number of accidents in Balmer Island as it has done in Torseu does little to prove for the conclusion. Ultimately, The argument would have been strengthened if the author could have shown that both islands had drivers with equal riding experience, and the traffic rules were equally strict in both islands without disparity. Furthermore, it would have been strengthened if the author based is an argument on the fact that most of the people in Baler didn't own their own moped and the decrement of accidents in Torseu didn't have any other factors other than reducing the moped rentals.