"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

The letter claims that by reducing the number of mopeds rented by each of the island’s six moped rental companies to 30 per day during the summer season to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. To justify this claim it states that its neighbouring island of Torseau enforced a similar limit and saw moped accidents reduced by 50 percent. This claim fails to mention several key factors and conveys a distorted view of the situation. The assumptions fail to mention several key factors and therefore the argument is unconvincing.

First, the argument readily assumes that Balmer Island is similar to its neighbouring island, Torseau. There are no details provided to justify this assumption. Even if it is the same, there could be a possibility that people over there do not preferring driving mopeds much due to harsh weather conditions. Without supported evidence on this, the claim seems to be unconvincing.

Second, the arguments states that by cutting down on the at each moped rental, there will be a decrease in accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. There could be a possibility that the moped drivers are driving by following all the rules and that the pedestrians are at fault since they cross the road without waiting for the signal to turn red. The argument would have been considerably strengthened if this point was taken into consideration and proper details been provided on this.

Finally, the argument unfairly infers that the mopeds should be reduced to 30 per day. This number is not backed by any data. There is also no evidence that shows whether the reduction will bring about any considerable change or has this idea been implemented before suggesting that it would work. There could be other possible solutions to this problem as well such as implementing a time period during which people can drive mopeds or conducting awareness campaigns that make people realize about the effects of such accidents. Without answers to these, one is left with an impression that the claims are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

The conclusion is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. Had the author presented evidence to back the assumptions and claims, the argument wold have been better reasoned.