The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The director claims that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of it budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. To justify this claim, it cites a recent report from the marketing department which states that even though fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies last year, the percentage of positive reviews have increased over the past year. This claim is based on assumptions and fails to mention several key factors. The scope and validity of the report is also not clear. For these reasons, the argument is unconvincing.

First, the argument mentions a recent report from their marketing department. There are no details provided on the report, the factors that were considered while making the report or whether any stats were considered or not. There is also no mention of the number of people who attended Super Screen produced movies prior to the previous year. Without considering these points and providing elaborate details on them, the argument is unsubstantiated by evidence.

Secondly, the argument based on the report claims that despite few people watching the movies, the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies increased during the past year. This claim is not backed by any data. There could be a possibility prior to this year many people watched such movies but abstained from providing any reviews. Even if the director's claim is considered to be true, it could be possible that some people exaggerated their reviews and gave a positive feedback. Had these factors been ruled out, the argument would have been considerably strengthened.

Finally, the argument unfairly infers that the problem lies not with the quality of the movies but with the fact that the public is not aware that movies of good quality are available. In fact many people would be aware of these good movies but just did not want to watch them as they were interested in watching some other movie. The director also assumes that allocating a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising will help improve the awareness of the movies to the general public. Doing so does not guarantee this and if it does not help then a large portion of the budget would have been lost even despite knowing that it could been used somewhere worthwhile. Without providing any case or example from the past that his has proved to be advantageous, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

The conclusion of the assumption is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. Had proper details and evidence been provided, the argument would have been better reasoned.