“The powerful are most respected not when they exercise
their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.”
What aspect of power engenders the greatest respect? Some would
argue that power inspires respect only by its ability to change things
or bring about results. This camp respects the powerful only when
they demonstrate their power by raising a massive army or
bestowing charity on the less fortunate. Others believe that the true
measure of power lies not in what it is used for, but in how it is
restrained. These people believe that people most respect the powerful
when they choose not to use their power, such as granting clemency
to a criminal on death row or allowing critics of the government to
speak out. However, even in these cases of restraint, it is clear that the
exercise of power is more respected because of what that restraint
implies about government power and control.
Consider first the respect people hold for the exercise of power. One of
the mightiest displays of power is the ability to protect and safeguard
people and property and this aspect of government is what many
people respect. Indeed, in Hobbes’s Leviathan, he argued that one of
the reasons people sacrifice themselves for the good of the state is to
preserve the power of the state to protect its members from outside
attacks. And one of the stated goals of the United States massive
military buildup was so that other countries would either “love us or
fear us.” Thus, it is clear that people have respect for displays of
power. Similarly, the ability of the powerful to bestow gifts of charity
on the less fortunate is also well respected. The names of
philanthropists like Carnegie and Rockefeller are held in high esteem
because they used their power to help those less fortunate than
themselves.
On the other hand, the ability to show restraint can also engender
respect. Recently, the governor of Illinois decided to commute the
death sentences of all the prisoners on death row. Such an act of
clemency brought high praise from human rights proponents around
the world. Furthermore, the fact that democratic governments allow
dissent when they could in many cases censor or squash unfavorable
opinions also lends credence to the view that restraint of power is
what people respect. For example, the arbitrary arrest and
sentencing of political dissidents in Russia has brought much
international criticism of the Kremlin, while countries that support
freedom of speech and the press are widely respected in the world.
Ultimately, after considering both sides of the issue, it must be
concluded that the exercise of power is most respected. This is because
even in cases of restraint, the entity in power is still exercising its
power. Granting clemency is possible only because the state holds the
power of life and death. Allowing dissent is exceptional only because
the government has the power to crush it. Thus, it is not the restraint
of power that people most respect, it is the exercise of it.