People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above.In writing your essay,you should consider both when the statement may be true and when it may be false

As quipped by Winston Churchill: “Speak softly and carry a big stick”, yet how this stick is used defines ones character and their perception by those who bear witness to power. do those who exercise their power command great respect than those who show restraint? some would argue that those who see a problem and act upon it deserve our admiration, while others believe that there is more probity to be found in those who refrain. I believe that those who resist the urge to overcome a problem with force are more deserving of our respect. After all, swinging a stick is a simple answer that may birth new conflicts, but showing mercy or magnanimity may resolve more than just the conflict seen on the surface.

those who believe that the proclivity to use power is a trait deserving reverence might make the general claim that inactivity leads to loss or that history is written by the victors. while these notions may ring true, they do not consider the implications of power misused. Perhaps those who flaunt their might have the respect of some, but many moral philosophers would argue that their actions are undeserving of admiration based on an objective human code. Take for example Nazi Germany: this regime committed horrendous acts, but if they had been successful in their advancements, many others would have looked upon Adolf Hitler as a man of great insight and worth, simply based on this position as a force and as a victor.

Conversely, a highly respected individual, John F kennedy is looked upon in a light of great admiration for his cool-headed leadership during the Cuban Missile Crisis. this event had the makings of a tragedy, but the young president refrained from use of gross force which had the potential to launch the world into massive turmoil. By looking beyond the ego of a nation, kennedy was able to prevent disaster and by doing so earned the respect of many.

Ultimately, the human experience has shown us that a barbaric use of power is an easier decision that is not nearly has effective on the whole and which does not command as much respect as intelligently refraining from that use of power. The presented examples suggest that a cool head in dire circumstances is what gains respect for a person.