People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above.In writing your essay,you should consider both when the statement may be true and when it may be false

In history, the people that possesses great power finds themselves in a peculiar relationship with their own power and often struggle between using the power or taking restraint measures, at times utilizing the very power itself does good to millions and potentially change the course of the human history for the better, yet there are also countless examples where the power and its executer deal tremendous detriment to a people, a nation, or the whole world. The sword of Damocles that perpetually hangs upon them, questioning them when or whether to exercise the power they hold as they wish on other people or entities. However, refraining from the abuse of might always keep its owner in the upper hand, since both misuse of power and excessive use of power expose the owner to grave existential danger and as a result, they will also bear an unholy characterization in the history books and also will be despised by succeeding generations.

People tend to have respect for those who exercise unparalleled restraint during hours of peril. At the height of the cold war, the Cuban missile crisis, president Kennedy announces the US will blockade all ships coming from the Soviet Union to Cuba as a result of the Soviet Union setting up a nuclear missile site in America’s doorstep in Cuba, days letter the situation has seriously exacerbated after then Chairman of the U.S.S.R declares it an act of aggression by the United States. Followed by the death of a US spy plane pilot a nuclear-armed Soviet submarine was hit by a depth-charge from a US navy vessel, with the consent of two Soviet commanding officer,a nuclear missiles might have been launched targeting US soil if it weren't for the tantamount courage and supreme bravery presented by Vasili Arkhipov, second in command. It was his dissent, that saves billions from the absolute abyss of a nuclear fallout and he acted by restraining the very might that ensures mutual destruction. For this he will always be remembered by the world as the man that truly saves the World. In the wake of the crisis, while unbridgeable differences in terms of political ideology or view towards democracy still exists even today, both sides chose to exercise that same restraint and also the not shy away from the responsibility to mankind and its future prospects for decades, even hundreds of years to come, so that one day the citizens of both countries or even the world could sit together in one room to discuss that one overriding topic of the human history, world peace, which hundreds of generations that survived before us dreamt of and prayed upon.

One of the founding fathers of the United States, George Washington, after leading countless battles with the British empire, was elected first President of the United States. As a monumental figure at the time and also now, he could have simply clinged on to that unbounded power with no one voicing objections. Instead, he did not do what numerous tyrants and emperors did throughout the history, which is to rule on top of the existing laws and be the sole ruler of one Kingdom or empire, he helped nurture the greatest social experiment of the world history to date, the infant republic and democracy of the United States of America, a congress elected by the people, a supreme court independent of the executive branch and a government for the people, by the people and of the people. Hypothetically if he chose to rule as a King as their enemy at the time the British monarchy did, the monument that is history’s greatest mentions would have a much smaller and lesser place for him and it is for that reason, refraining from waving tremendous unlimited might that he is forever remembered and respected by the citizens of the world as he is one of them, returning to them as a tobacco farm owner when his two terms as the first president of the United States came to the end.

It is just priceless when the powerful know that when to exercise power and when not to. Savvy practitioners know deep down they’ve got ahold of the power even if they don’t present it to the world. History will always allocate a lousy reputation for people that’s eager to showcase their might and brings those for which power resides and internalizes as their doctrines and principles to the foreground.