An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Lavender has been traditionally used by cultures as a ancient prescription for insomnia, however after examining the aforementioned text which states that lavender flowers has been proven by modern science as a effective cure for insomnia is unfortunately tenable due to dearth of further evidence and also suffers from logical errors.

First of all, the author fails to provide proof that in a way involves a control group which is standard in modern medicine experiments, where the experiment conductors add in another group of which patients suffer from the same symptoms of the same magnitude. In that it would then show how lavender scent really acts on a human body in comparison to the control group, furthermore since the normal medication also affects the patients’ sleep condition so it is also essential to add in a base group, which consists of normal healthy human beings who do not suffer from insomnia or any other related symptoms at all. In absence of any single group the experiment itself will be nothing more than futile and in turn we won’t ever sufficiently prove the author’s claim.

I also feel the need to point out that we see in the initial response from patients in this experiment during the first week, there are signs of aggravation of symptoms which manifest itself as patients feeling tired after getting up despite better quality at sleeping, which simply belies the canonical common sense: If you sleep better, you are going to wake up felling more energized and not the other way around. The researchers should find out the cause of this negative condition and how to circumvent it, as the general public is not aware if this natural remedy could bring any potential side effects with itself and this could easily dissuade the customers from adopting this ancient medication and not to mention the fact that this could also nullify lavender’s curing effect on insomnia.

To end with, the author ought to also supply evidence that lavender scent works well on insomnia patients over a longer period of time. And a total of 30 persons in the trial is relatively small and therefore it won’t accurately and adequately represent all patients with insomnia until additional trials were conducted in corroboration with this initial result. Insomnia is undoubtedly a chronic disease, thus merely three weeks of time with a gradual improvement of outcome does not address any prospects of curing, if there ever will be, over the long run. Therefore this debate regarding whether lavender flowers can cure modern insomnia still goes on and will remain this way if there were no additional evidence of the aforementioned kind emerges.