Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

should a teacher’s salary be directly related to the academic performance of their students? perhaps such an incentive would drive teachers to become a greater influence, or perhaps it would cause a slew of complications and iniquities. linking a teacher’s salary to the students' performance would not be an appropriate or fair method of improving academic results.

Currently, schools expect teachers to engage with students and help them to the best of their abilities because it is a noble cause. The best teachers will always be those who instruct out of passion, rather than out of avarice. In recent news, there was a story covering a science teacher who engaged his students by introducing them to the wonders of chemical reactions. this individual put in extra time outside of school to help get the students excited about academics and keep them from getting involved in the troubled areas of their community. this man’s intentions should never be confused with the desire for more money.

one example of a profession that links performance with wages is the world of sales. Top performing salesmen are highly coveted by large corporations, who pay them large sums. sales may look lucrative when observing these top performers, but this industry is famously feast-or-famine. Only a select few sales professionals are able to succeed beyond the norm while others struggle to get by. As the motivations between public education and business are extremely different, this sort of outcome would likely cause much upset, especially if teachers are competing against each other, and would serve to objectify the most talented children as a sort of financial asset. this could even result in teachers focusing much of their attention on select few students instead of trying to boost the class' performance as a whole.

Additionally, consider the fact that schools and students come from different backgrounds that are not within the control of the teachers. one group of students may have access to private tutors, so any success cannot be fully attributed to a home-room teacher. Conversely, in areas that generally underperform, it would be very difficult for an exceptional teacher to stand out, and they may induce an improvement to performance without raising their scores to a level that warrants reward.

Ultimately, while paying teachers based on student performance might be a compelling experiment, but the complications and potential harm of doing so should proscribe this sort of system. there is potential that both students and teachers would suffer or enjoy unfair treatment as an artifact of this nationwide ‘gameshow’, therefore salaries should not be based on the academic performance of their students.