Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Many outstanding high school students who later go on to excel at university will credit some of their success to a particular teacher. Teachers play a huge role in students' lives and shape their interest in subjects. With the correct kind of nurturing and support, a teacher can really change the perspective one student may have towards a certain subject, and influence said student in an extremely positive manner. Ensuring that appropriate teachers are chosen for these position is of utmost importance. Selecting the right teachers, and compensating them accordingly, becomes an extremely important part of building a supportive academic environment.

The first benefit of basing salaries on student performance is teacher vetting. If it is a fact that salaries are based on student performance, only teachers who are willing to put in hard work to see their students succeed will apply for the position. There would be a clear objective to the teaching position. On a similar note, this also serves as an incentive to teachers who are already teaching to improve. If teachers feel that their students are lacking in certain areas, they can focus their efforts on revising difficult concepts, making amendments to the syllabus, or adding additional resources. Educators would then not only see their efforts in their student's performance, but would also be able to measure that performance by their salary.

Another benefit of basing salary on student performance is that it can incentivise students as well. If a student knows that their performance is likely to impact a teacher's livelihood, they would be more likely to put more attention and focus in to studying. This is similar to an employee handing deliverables to his or her manager in order to meet a deadline. Failure to deliver these deadlines does not only reflect poorly on the employee, but also reflects poorly on the manager, as it speaks to their ability to manage employees.

There are some circumstances in which this pay scheme may prove to be inefficient or unjust. For example, if a student is disinterested in academics, or is not willing to put in effort towards studying, this may reflect poorly on the teacher, despite the teacher's best efforts. Similarly, if a teacher is uninterested in teaching, they may simply give good grades to all of their students regardless of their actual performance in the class. Both of these problems, however, may be addressed appropriately with a review committee. If there is a board or body within the school that is able to review the sanity of the grading system, and asses whether or not poor performance is teacher based or student based, then these issues would not threaten the pay scheme.

Overall, basing pay on performance can incentivise both students and faculty. Faculty members will be more likely to improve their teaching approach and focus on student individually, and students will be more likely to put in more effort in studying and achieving good results. There are some circumstances in which this scheme may unfairly target teachers, or provide an illegal way for teachers to increase their salary, but these circumstances may be avoided with a proper governing body. This type of pay scheme is likely to create more motivated, driven, and academically rigorous institutions.