Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation’s culture traditions are preserved and generated.

To say that the cities of a nation storehouse its diverse culture and history is an entirely fair statement. A nation is but a collective of people; where the citizen reside, so does the soul. However, no policy should operate on generalizations and absolutes, therefore, I believe that support should be qualified in a manner such that the system remains adaptable; incentivizing the preservation of old while simultaneously encouraging the growth of the new.

The greatest receptacles of knowledge of our past are often the great cities of old. The less these cities fell to squalor and conflict, the more they are able to tell. Not only do cities retain culture with support, but they grow their own. On the modern scale, compare, for example, buffalo, which was a powerhouse of industry in the early 1900's but which has lost all of its vigor, to a metropolitan giant like San Francisco, which through attraction of capital, has both maintained a historical culture while driving the invention of a new one.

cities and their inhabitants should be given the tools to thrive, but that does not mean the gift should come without consideration. After all, the government funds a city with the taxes from all across the country, so surely resources should be allocated based on potential, effort, and need. Citing the case from above, when buffalo was destabilized through de-industrialization, the government could very well have stepped in to aid in a transition, rather than letting the otherwise well established city fall from grace, leading to huge population displacement.

As declared previously, the people make up the soul of a city, so it is up to the people to determine what is worth preserving and make their case to the judges and distributors of financial resources. Conversely, it is also the governing body's responsibility to maintain awareness of potential pitfalls and to de-risk communities by actively engaging in a support strategy to ensure that the citizens are never encumbered with the dread of sudden crisis.

often, the true value of something is not known until its time has passed; if you protect the things that people hold dear now, then it may serve a future generation with great insight and purpose.