The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets.

An argument is made for luxury retailers to transition into lower price-tier markets due to economic decline. The following paragraphs will discuss the soundness and logic of this recommendation.

To recapitulate, the author cites high unemployment rates and consumer fear as a cause for reduction in average household spending on physical items. Consequently, as luxury items are deemed non-essential, the author posits that the luxury good market will see the most precipitous drop and thus, that retailers of such goods should pivot their business model to target another type of market. However, these assertions fail to consider several lines of reasoning that could undermine the conclusion; particularly, surrounding the nature of the consumers and the market conditions.

One glaring oversight is the fact that these reports only address the deleterious effects of the current economic climate on the average household. The target market of luxury goods may be those who are unaffected by unemployment and fear; it is entirely possible that the average household consumer only makes up a very small portion of the luxury goods consumer-base, leaving the overall sales largely unaffected. another assumption being made is that a luxury retailer would have greater success by undergoing a pivot into a lower price-range market. Not only is this a very risky move to make for a well established business, but there is no telling that consumers will buy more of their goods if quality and price are reduced, nor is there consideration for whether the economic downturn will even last long enough to make this conversion worthwhile; it could be safer just to ride it out.

Overall, if the author wishes to make a compelling argument, they would be better served by collecting consumer data on the specific audience of luxury retailers. Further, the author could make a more successful argument by citing past examples of businesses that downgraded their product line during economic crises and overcame the challenges that sunk those who did not adapt.

Ultimately, the author's assessment omits several key factors which could heavily influence the well-being of a business and jumps to a conclusion before verifying the nature of the consumer relationship with the products as well as the risks associated with altering a business model on-the-fly.