The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but espe

The argument concludes that high end retailers should pivot their attention to lower priced markets to survive in the current economic climate. The premise for this is that the market for luxury goods is on the decline due to customer fears and rising unemployment. Consumers are using their income for essential items and not luxury ones. Seeing this trend, the argument says that the market of luxury good will not survive in this economic climate and should eye the lower priced sector. However, there are several underlying assumptions that make the argument logically unsound.

Firstly, the arguments assumes that the sample on which the unemployment reports are based are truly representative of the entire population. It can very well be probable that a certain sector of industry is facing unemployment. This sector might be middle class and not the target demographic of luxury goods in the first place. This would also mean that there are other underlying causes for the market decline of luxury goods. For example, the quality of luxury goods might be on the decline or the prices might have been higher than usual to allow even the usual customers to purchase the goods uninhibitedly.

Secondly, the passage does not dive into the kind or causes of consumer fears that the consumers are facing. A resolution of such fears might alienate the need for luxury sellers to change their price demographic. It also could be that the market might be saturated with good quality luxury goods which would remove the need for consumers to buy more luxury products.

Thirdly, customers tend to buy luxury items as a status symbol. Lack of promotion on the part of the sellers might be a factor in customers wanting the high end product. Further, if the market is stagnant and there is no innovation in the type of products, it is unlikely that even the most spendthrift customers will buy the same old products.

Lastly, there is no causal relationship between sellers shifting to lower-price markets and customers buying those products. There is no guarantee or factual evidence or even market research to validate this claim. There might also be luxury goods which are essential like cars, clothes and people who have a proclivity for them will not switch over to their lower priced substitutes. The claim that the market of luxury goods will face a decline is tenuous.

Considering all the above factors, it is not guaranteed that switching to lower priced products will enable luxury businesses to stay afloat. If there was more evidence underpinning the claims stated, the conclusion would be more probable. However, in its current form it remains unsubstantiated.