People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Every one of us has faced moments in their lives where it is a scenario of heart vs mind or emotion vs logic.One of the many threads that run between successful people is their ability to make different or difficult decisions. A camp of people believe that these decisions should be made with logic while another believe that it is necessary to follow your heart. There is another group, which makes emotional decisions and later justifies them with logic. Which one is correct?

If history is to be believed, there are numerous stories of people who let emotion take the reins. Bill Gates famously dropped out of a prestigious institute like Harvard to found Microsoft. This decision, then seemed illogical to any sensible person. But in hindsight, it gave the world one revolutionary product in the form of PC.

Would Bill Gates be considered a poor decision maker because he let his emotion or passion drive his life?

It was when logic warned against it, that Elon Musk decide to invest his last dollar into SpaceX and Tesla. A safer option would have been to wait till his finances were stronger to incur such an investment.

Would history name Elon Musk , one of the greatest technological innovators, a poor decision maker? It was his emotion, which could later be justified by the resounding and pioneering success of both his companies that paints him as a man not afraid to make the tough decisions.

Keeping the professional decisions aside, one case where emotional decisions are rampart is choosing a life partner. Romance is seldom dominated or characterized by astute logic. Increase in the number of divorces show that letting your heart decide who to spend your life with might not always be the best choice. However, does letting logic decide guarantee a better outcome?

Clearly, making decisions is tough when the consequences are unpredictable. Some instances like investment, careers, job changes, or even marriage requires one to be logical. However, trusting your gut and leaping has its merits too. In the end, it is a person who knows when to let the heart decide and when to let logic influence the decision who is the good decision maker.