GRE Argument: An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, far

The author concludes that the way to combat Vitamin A deficiency in Tagus would be promoting a new type of millet rich in Vitamin A. This conclusion is based on the evidence that Tagus is an impoverished nation with a deficiency of Vitamin A. If provided with a solution to combat this deficiency in the form of millet, people will adopt it. This argument raises a lot of questions and would be unsubstantiated without evidence answering those questions.

The scope and influence of the International organization is not mentioned. How did it discern that there was a vitamin A deficiency in the first place? What were the methods used to engineer the new breed of millet? Were there proper clinical trials to check if the genetically engineered crop did not have any adverse side effects on consumption?

The author assumes that granting subsidy to farmers and millet being the staple food, will make the farmers grow the new crops and the people consume them. With lack of factual evidence, it engenders doubts regarding its validity. What if farmers were skeptical to grow new millet due to the fear of alienating their traditional customers? What if [people were orthodox or paranoid to switch to the new millet crop? What if millet was never the staple crop in the first place? There has been no indication of an analysis to ascertain these facts.

The solution proposed is that the government should promote the new variety of millet. A government should have its citizens' best interests at heart. How can it know the crop is safe? In an impoverished nation, why would the Government accept the claims of new millet being a panacea of its problems coming from an international organization?

Keeping the above questions in mind, it is easy to believe that the recommendation will not have the predicted denouement unless there are answers. While it is understandable to believe that the genetically engineered crop will be adopted because it aims to solve a deficiency, people do not adapt to change readily without concrete evidence.