The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets.

The statement given by the text that luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower priced markets and products is not backed up by sufficient proof that this will be a sufficient move. There are a couple of flaws in the text, specially regarding the size of the research, the possibility of behaviours from customers of high-ended products and in the affirmation that people would buy from a luxury retailers who changed to lower priced marked.

First, the text claims that recent reports show a lower spending in non essential items. There is, however, no reference of the size of this sample, and where it was done. Was this report done with million, thousands, hundreds of people? It could not be representative of the overall buyers population, since it could focus on only on a specific social class such as the middle class. Furthermore, given the small sample, this result might also not represent different locations. Given these arguments, it is not possible to affirm that there was a representative sample for all luxury retailers focus their attention to lower priced products.

Secondly, there is a statement saying that unenmployement rate is high. However, this might not be true for the very specific population who buys luxury products, specially considering that during crises the major employees affected by lay outs are usually the lower ended employees, and not the high management. With this in mind, we cannot conclude that there is a bad economic climate for the kind of social class who usually buys high end products.

Lastly, the text suggests that luxury retailers should refocus on other type of products, such as lower priced ones. Still, this does not take into account that people will buy from luxury brands even if they rebrand themselves. This comes up considering that people who usually buy lower priced products could just not think about buying from a hgiher priced brand. At the same time, customers who like luxury brands might enjoy the special feel of it. Consequentely, selling lower prices could not attract neither of these customers.

In resume, the arguments given by the author has flaws and are not sufficient to affirm that changing the luxury retailers strategy would result in satisfactory outcomes. The text could be improved by adding statistical data regarding the population from the recent report that it cites, say that unemployment rate is high even among people who spend on luxury items, and by showing that consumers would buy from a luxury retailer reframed as lower priced.