“The city council of Smithville has instituted changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes require that the town hire more police officers, budget more funds for police overtime, and direct officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility will significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide how likely the stated recommendation is to yield the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Visibility of the police force can be hinged on a lot of factors but Smithville council believe that their appropriation of high budget for police overtime, direct officer patrol on foot rather than in patrol cars and increasing the number of officers will lower crime wave. On a superficial basis, this assertion can be considered logical and convincing.

However, the flaws that are presented in this argument include; not answering questions on how the police officers will be equipped. As well as how protected they will be on foot and their measured effectiveness, how the budget will be appropriated and the specific choice of schedule for overtime.

Increase in number of police officials will mean resources such as weapons, surveillance devices and radio speakers for communication will have been in-deptly thought of and provided. Provisions also will be made for training them for the task ahead especially the fact that they will fight crime on foot. Moreover, how their roles will be played whether in groups or independently will have to be considered as well. Police officials on foot can end up in uncomfortable circumstances where they will not be able to run for their lives nor protect themselves. Their effectiveness will not be good as compared to having patrol cars for chases or instances where speed will be required. Budget for overtime was not defined or explained in detail as it could mean budget for salary and not budget for resources, or budget for survey equipment and not for protective materials. The choice of schedule for overtime was not talked about in depth. The question is schedule time could be for midnight or daytime and evidence of the specific times crimes normally occur was not pointed out.

The assertion presented in the argument makes a lot of sense. Meanwhile, the questions that are supposed to be answered including police officials’ protection, budget appropriation, overtime schedule and effectiveness of the police officials was not addressed to make it convincing enough. It ends up not concluding very well that the crime rate will decrease but answering these questions will strengthen the argument.