The city council of Smithville has instituted changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes require that the town hire more police officers, budget more funds for police overtime, and direct officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility will significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer.

The argument initially might seem justified stating that the more number of police force is engaged the less would be the crime rate. The argument totally depends upon the assumptions that increase in number of police would surely decrease the crime rate. There is no proper evidence cited by the author.

Author has failed to cite any evidence or show any results where increase in number of police force has ultimately reduced the crime rates. The author revolves around a single point that it is the police number which matters the most in reducing the crime rates. The increase in budget might also bring out an economical imbalance in the society due to which the crime rates might increase instead of decreasing.

There may be increase in the crime rates if the assumption made by the author goes the other way round. For example, if police are made to patrol around the city by foot more often, they may feel lazy and may fail to go on patrol. Author has not thrown any light on how the police patrol would be scrutinized whether they perform their job effectively.

The argument would have been strong if the author would have shown the results where these practices helped in reducing the crime rates. The point would also become stronger if it would have been cited that there will be no imbalance in the economic level of the society and the source for the increase in the budget amount. Author could have increased the effectiveness of the argument if he would have shown in what way the police would be scrutinized for performing their work.

In conclusion, the argument stated by the author might prove to benefit the society as stated but the whole argument totally depends on assumptions and more light has to be thrown over the argument.