The following appeared in the City Council Proceedings section of the local newspaper in Smithville:

"The city council of Smithville has instituted changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes require that the town hire more police officers, budget more funds for police overtime, and direct officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than from their cars. These improvements in visibility will significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer"

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide how likely the stated recommendation is to yield the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that improving the police visibility by employing more police officer, increasing the overtime fund and making police officers to patrol on their foot would decrease crime rate and people feel safe is at first glance plausible. However, the assumption is flawed since the evidences are not clear and there are undefined terms.

First, the author assumes that by improving the visibility of police officer s the crime rate would drop. In fact, the author did not mention the main cause of the crimes in the city. The cause of crime might be because of other reasons such as police officer corruption or the high poverty rate. Therefore, hiring more police officer might not decrease the crime rate because their might enough corrupted police officer. For example, in Brazil, there are many police officer but because criminal can bribe police officers, the crime in the country are increasing and increasing the visibility of the police officer would not result in lowering the crime rate.

Additionally, the author states that increasing the fund for overtime would help increasing the visibility of police officer. Nevertheless, are there many police officers taking overtime? What if there are few police officers taking overtime and thus correlating the visibility with overtime budget is incorrect. Furthermore, the writer assumes that police officers patrolling in their foot would more visible than patrolling with cop cars. In this assumption the meaning of visibility is not clear because using car make police officer more visible to criminal. In addition, even if the police officer would the police officer would be visible on their foot, would they be in danger and possibly be an easy target to criminal. Therefore, the writer should consider the safety of the police officer.

In conclusion, if the cause of the crime in the city is not because the police officers are less visible, then the argument will be wrong. The author should elaborate of the cause of crime in city and defined the term visible as well as providing more clear evidence that the new changes will reduce overall crime rate.