The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A group of developers has opened an application for a business idea of creating a jazz music club in the city of Monroe. The group states that the Jazz club would be highly profitable since there are no jazz clubs near to the city of Monroe. Even though the written application and the idea of building a Jazz club seem plausible, the argument is flawed because it lacks some evidences.

First, the writer states that there are more than 100,000 people who attend the Monroe’s Jazz festival last summer. However, the author did not mention form where those people came from. Did they come mostly from outside the city of Monroe or from the inside? If they came from outside the city, then that does not there enough people who are interested in Jazz music in city of Monroe. Moreover, the population of the city of Monroe might be small in size that building a Jazz club would be unprofitable.

Secondly, the grope states that several well-know jazz musicians live in the city of Monroe. Nevertheless, the author did not mentioned how these famous Jazz musicians they would contribute in the success of the Jazz club. Since the group announcing for an idea of small-business, that mean the budget for the Jazz club would be limited. Moreover, inviting on of the famous Jazz musician would extremely expensive for the owner of club.

The grope justify the projected success of the Jazz club by high rated radio program in Monroe : the Jazz Nightly. Nonetheless, the grope did not mention how many programs are there in the radio station and how many people are rating and listing to the Jazz Nightly program. If there are many people from Monroe listing to the Jazz program in the radio, then it is sign of successful business idea. However, if the number of people who are listing is small then business idea has to be reevaluated.

In conclusion, the business idea of building a jazz club in the Monroe city might be profitable. However, the group has to provide more clear evidence that Jazz club would be profitable business in Monroe city.