Genius is nothing more than another term for obsession.

Two words cannot ever mean exactly the same that is why even synonyms have limitations – the way you use one word will differ from the way you use its synonym. When someone is said to be a genius, it mostly means the person did something out of the ordinary that causes people to hail him or her whilst obsession is the state of devoting time and energy in something to the extreme. Even though these words do not seem to be synonyms, when thought of it in actual sense, they can be likened. I agree to the assertion to some extent.

First of all, it is evident by what we see and hear that geniuses spend awfully long hours to accomplish what they are hailed for. Judging from this, you can conclude and maintain that it is a sign of obsession. Einstein is a well-known scientist who invented the light bulb. History has it that he tried several number of times to achieve that. When something is being done for the first time, it mostly requires a lot of time. Compare studying something that has already been established like a theory and creating a light bulb that never existed; the two cannot be the same. It means that spending time on one thing and being totally devoted to it makes it somewhat an obsession.

Also, ingenuity becomes an obsession when the person is motivated to do what he or she does. That way spending more time to accomplish a task feels easy as compared to someone who gets none. Aside motivation, another thing that causes obsession to link to ingenuity is sponsorship. Knowing that there is somebody looking up to you makes geniuses obsessed. It cannot be refuted that great results and inventions come out of the obsessions of geniuses

However, when ingenuity is not viewed as an obsession, it is mostly in instances where the genius in question has a flair in what he does. Consider Leonardo da Vinci for instance, he was a genius in Arts, Mechanical Engineering, Science and Physics. History has it that he used to work for a King to design equipment to be used by the King’s kingdom – he did not spend so much time doing Arts but his prowess in Arts is undeniable. His name still remains because of his exceptionality; excelling in more than one field. This is a lucid and cogent idea to disagree to the assertion.