The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Café, a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city:

“We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to assess the reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of Juniper Café is convinced that to reduce cost of operation and prevent bankruptcy, the operating hours of the café should be reduced. The presented argument seems clear and lucid but when thought of critically, you realize there are some considerations to be made to make it more cogent and reasonable.

To begin with, the argument assumes that the only way to reduce cost is reducing hours. Another alternative can be thought of. This will be in terms of management which goes a long way to affect businesses. The menu of the café can be revised to make changes, some things that are not highly patronised can be taken out. A simple suggestion from customers can be taken as to how different things should be made for them. The owner can ask this question about wastage. How much is wasted during a day and how can it be curbed? The owner can even review the height of hygiene it maintains which also contributes to keeping customers to a great extent.

Additionally, the owner can make enquiry of the main cause of the reduction in patronage or the reduction in earnings. He can ask if the workers are working as they are supposed to? Are the customers treated well, are the workers satisfying the customers, are they putting things in place to attract customers? One way of encouraging workers is paying them well and on time; is the owner doing exactly that? Do they meet to discuss the way things are going with the café or does he make singular decisions that discourage the workers from coming on board with ideas and building a team.

Another thing the owner can consider is the time of the year. If it is cold, then that will mean it will be a very bad idea to reduce the hours of operation. But if it is warm like in summer, reducing the hours can be cogent. Even that, an alternative can be considered like switching to sell things suited for the weather.

Moreover, reduction in hours which means decrease in utility cost and wages will also imply customers will come during the hours when it is closed. The café will not only lose their customers to their competitors but their reliability will be at stake.

The argument will be more conclusive if the owner considers revising the menu to suit customers, review the way the café is managed and the customers are satisfied. He should also consider being versatile when it comes to the weather changes and give incentives when the need arises.