In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favourite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

To begin with, people the survey’s result cannot prove as a predication of people’s actual behavior, It might because of the Mason City riverside water sports as in high demand, which will be translated into usage. This survey might interview in a really hot summer, so all people want to swimming, boating and fishing. In the hot summer, all people want to have a cold day. On the other hand, the author reports their love for water sports. However, the scope and effectiveness of the survey are not clear. For example, the survey may ask residents whether they like to use rivers for water sports, The sample of this experiment may not represent all the urban residents, but only the residents along the river. And the survey might only contain two questions specifically about river sports. We just don't know the specific situation. It means it cannot effectively support the author's argument.

Secondly, from this short essay know that it does not means the government department should devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. It just like this short essay says, the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. When the river is clean up and to make some recreational facilities it means the river will dirty again. That means it doesn’t make sense to use the money. Then the residents' use of Mason River will be affected.

Last but not least, the local government decided to give this year’s budget in Mason City’s river because of the smell and the dirty quality of the water. The author assumes that the government should also fund more money in riverside recreational facilities. The logic here is not reasonable.

To sum up, it has not rigorous prove it. So the city government should not for much money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.