Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The two views presented both deem reasonable since corporations are operated to both satisfy the people in the societies they operate and to make money. Making the views exclusive, makes the assertion somewhat unreasonable. I do not fully agree with it.

To begin with, corporations have the responsibility of promoting the wellbeing of the societies in which they operate because the very first thing that comes to mind is how to satisfy the people. It is in satisfying the people that success will be realized. Corporations are not established for being established sake but to serve the people. This is the more reason why corporations carry out surveys to make sure they have the right niche before they settle on establishing or even the kind of service they should render. For instance, a car insurance company will first of all carry out a survey to be sure the people within the location will actually need the service and will patronize.

Additionally, it is a fact that, a satisfied customer will keep coming for more services; sometimes regardless of how expensive it may be. For instance, expensive hotels that render satisfactory services are always filled up with people not because it is expensive, but because their services wow their customers. Also, restaurants that serve very sumptuous meals are successful even though the quantity of meals in most cases are not satiable. It is all because they have the wellbeing of the people in mind.

Aside that, recommendation from customers to other people is assured when the corporation takes it upon itself to deliver well with the wellbeing of the people in mind.

In another school of thought, making money is deemed the responsibility of every corporation. Even though that may be true, it is a fact that abiding by the law alone do not guarantee success in service delivery. The thought of only making often results in the neglect of the satisfaction of the people. For example, in a retail store, self-check-out machines were introduced and resulted in reduction of hours for cashiers. Most of the members of the store saw the implication of the machines and requested to speak to the manager about it. Since nothing was done about it, it resulted in a reduction of patronage.

However, it can be noted that, having the wellbeing of the people at heart often leads to making more money as the people keep coming and they keep recommending to others. Abiding by the law and having only the interest of money, also makes corporations greedy.

To conclude, both schools of thought should be considered inclusively and not exclusively. Having the interest of the people goes a long way to reward corporations.