a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Should nations require all students, from primary to high school, to follow the same national curriculum until college? While the answer, at first, may seem as an obvious yes, I believe that the recommendation is too extreme, and vague to implement. There are diverse range of situations where the claim is too difficult to implement and can be disadvantageous. For example, all schools, located across the vast region of India, cannot provide the same level of curriculum due to lack of resources.

If the national curriculum required all students to study computers I would find it difficult to implement in regions like Kashmir or Leh Ladak where electricity outages are frequent and computers are difficult to procure. This situation would create a disadvantage for students from rural areas; as they would lack sufficient computer knowledge to pass the national exams. Of course, if the national curriculum was simple and only applied for the basic subjects then I would be inclined to follow along with the recommendation.

All schools, whether they have sufficient resources or not, are able to provide simple knowledge of subjects like Mathematics, English, and the Sciences. Therefore, if the national curriculum was extended to only include those basic subjects which do not require large amounts of resources then it would be fruitful to implement the recommendation. Doing so, national level examinations could be carried out and colleges would be able to use the exam results as an admission criteria. However, while implementing the recommendation it would be important to keep in mind that not all fields require the same level of knowledge in a subject. For example, Engineering requires more knowledge of Math and Physics while Medical fields require stronger grasp of Biology.

In the event that the same national curriculum was implemented everyone would study all subjects on the same level. Medical students would be studying Math that might be too difficult for them, or students' who want to become Engineers would be studying Biology when they might require it or even be interested in it. This could lead to lower motivation for some subjects as students would be forced to study subjects which they are not interested in. Of course if the curriculum was split field wise like, Medical students study higher level Biology and lower level Physics, then it could lead to an advantageous scenario. However, if the curriculum was general and all students were to study subjects of the same difficulty level it could lead to an abundance of students becoming demotivated.

In conclusion, as the recommendation stands currently it is too extreme, and vague to accept; therefore, more work needs to be done on the recommendation. However, the concept of having the same national curriculum till high school has merit leading to a future where education equality is possible for all students.