a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Our Elders usually instruct us to a king of the deck rather than the jack of all trades however modern competitive reality seems to support the jacks much better than the kings. Enforcing students evrywhere in the nation through similar set of routine may turn out to be quite ineffective for the development of their skills.

When it comes to studying variety is the key when it comes to overall polishing of a student's skills, it is well documented that students who are put through curriculum with diverse applications have a much higher chance of honing their overall IQ. This is due to the challenge it brings to the table as rarely any students can be a jack of a jack of all trades thus forcing the brain to adapt and learn new patterns and methods to further augment their neural network.

Exposure to these diverse fields lead to students developing unique skills and thus promoting different sectors opportunities, as a nation will benefit from advancing all their disparate branches to develop such as business, sciences or art etc. Also if students were to train in a single discipline this will limit their areas of favourable opportunities, for example- A curriculum not focussed on art will surely affect students looking to enter college of photography, sculpting etc.

Furthermore it could lead to frustation in children who have worked hard to get good grades in Chemistry or Physics but failed to get a good understanding of economics if it is not included. A student looking to advnace their career in Archaeology will be very frustated when their understanding of the field they wish to pursue is blinkered. This frustation could turn into depression which is going to affect the generation that is going to lead us into tomorrow and these shoulders should be strong and firm, this practice will only affect them severely.

Even if we were to adapt this practice and made students to learn the same subjects all over, what happens when they interact will other students at international level or apply for jobs in a foreign land? They will be at a clear disadvantage when it comes to being protean , which is demanded when it comes to higher level competitiveness at the international level. Producing the best engineers in the world may seem like a great monetary idea but if they fail to understand basic economics, all the money will run out before they know it.

The idea has a positive motivation behind it and is appreciable as development of the most basic subjects like science is vital, as these are respectable subjects when it comes to logic development and reasoning skills. However a better way would be to make these subjects as a major focus but still have other subjects for the complete development of a perfect student.