Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Colleges and universities provide courses which pursue by the student to acquire knowledge from the well-qualified person, and then college and university validate student’s education, to make them ready for the outside world. The college and university should provide a variety of subjects from a different branch of the field. As it’s the era of the next generation, the industry expects more from the student. To fulfill it the university should provide elective courses rather than removing it from the curriculum.

The university should provide elective courses as per students' choice rather than forcing them to apply for one specific direction. By doing that, the student may dislike the subject and end up getting fewer marks in the final exam. The student should have the independence to select their elective item, which helps them to become profound in that subject. Let me give an example of my university structure: Our university give us to choose many elective topics, student is very excited to choose one of them. By doing that, the university not only helps the student to select their choice of elective but also they maintained an interest in the study. And at the end of the semester, student are very happy to give the exam of their own selected subject, which thrives the overall performance of the student.

Moreover, why university wants to stop a student from choosing their subject, is there any problem related to the maintained record of the student or due to lack of teaching staff or due to difficulty arranging exam of elective subjects. This is all management levels of problem, which can be solved by hiring an excellent management staff and adding teaching staff in the university. But to stop student from selecting their elective subject will affect the longterm image of the university. This small investment in the university will give the university excellent returns.

Also, generalizations student is not god things, and the university should understand that every student is different have different ability to understand the subject. The university doesn’t have any right to interfere with that.

In conclusion: Although The university and college have the authority to change syllabus, they can’t get abundant the decision making of students.