Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rat

The prompt recommends that colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate courses in order to provide clear guidance for students because college students people prefer to follow direction rather than make their own decision. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the prompt because of the following reasons stated in my essay below.

To begin, when the students gets admission in Colleges and Universities, most of the students are not that much aware of their interest and with what they want to move further in career. It can be because they are not that much serious or because of the improper or no guidance from their parents and elders. So it's a college and universities from where they got to know what incites them more by taking elective courses, from their classmates they get to learn many things which helps in directing their future goals. Then comes a time where the students can actually makes their decision with what they want to pursue. As an instance, not everyone family members are that much educated and not able to direct their child future which ultimately ruin the students future. According to survey in India, more than 45% people are uneducated and because of that there is lack of providence. So if colleges and universities will eliminate the electives then it will make the situation more worse because if the student pursue with the courses which doesn't make him happy, ultimately in future the time will come when he/she will give up.

Further, In the rapid changing with technology and development, no one can predict what new technology will come. So in order to tackle that situation in future, student should be versatile by taking multiple electives. Take an instance, few years back Chartered Accountants jobs boom was very much in the market but as the time changed it got vanished. So if a student is having an electives then they can make their path in that career without any issue.

Moreover, A person should be good and versatile. If a person is good in coding it doesn't means that his future will be bright because apart from this their are many things that plays a very vital role in a person life. As an instance, if a person is good in coding and lacks in communication and leadership, then at some point in future his growth will be stuck because if the person is not able to express his knowledge and abilities, not able to take stand then all his hard work will be waste.

Of course, some argue that of if students take multiple electives then he/she will be perplexed with their future goals which they have marked. But as seen above majority of people are uneducated and because of that they are not to guide their children which leads to the draining in students future.