Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

The claim concluding the need to specify all required courses and eliminate electives for the sake of clear guidance for students is based on the assumption that people generally prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions. College is not only a place for absorbing knowledge, but also a place for personal development. To neglect the importance of electives in providing freedom in college and to provide every student with a set path is defying the purpose of tertiary education.

To start with, college is a place for self-discovery as well as the discoveries of knowledge and academic findings. It is a crucial learning process for university students to learn to choose what they want to learn and set their own path. Following directions and walking a set path in life might seem the most convenient and effortless thing to do, given that students do not have to spend time to understand every course brief before enrolling in a class, or to worry about the required credits to graduate with a specific major. However, it is a necessary process that every college student has to go through. In fact, students learn a lot about what they are interested in when choosing electives. Throughout the 4 years of study, they would be able to make informed decisions by themselves, thus preparing them for the future, where more complex decisions have to be made.

Moreover, specifying all required courses neglects the inherent differences in strengths and weaknesses of students studying the same major. For instance, if a student majoring in architecture is more interested in going into the academia and doing research on the history and theory of architectural development, it would be a waste of talent to prohibit him/her to take elective courses in the area but requiring a course in advanced structural calculations. This is not to say required foundation courses on structure are not needed, but to argue that a student should be encouraged to embrace their strengths and to further develop it into their area of expertise. This is the very purpose of college education.

Some may argue that providing a clear direction for students to follow is necessary as electives would dilute students’ focus in their majors. However, for instance, an art student taking a history course may not necessarily be a deviation from her focus on his/her major. The diverse nature of her courses taken can enhance her all-roundedness in her knowledge, further strengthening her studies. Using the same example, the student majoring in art may apply knowledge learnt from history courses to explain how the socio-economic factors in the Renaissance period influence artists in that era, further enriching her knowledge in her expertise.

Therefore, eliminating elective courses in curriculums not only prohibit student’s freedom of choosing with their own interests, but also limits the possibility of developing more all-rounded students in college.