Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well

People like to explore and be innovative in order to build their bank of knowledge rather than sticking to solely what they know how to do well. However, in my own opinion, I would rather do what I know how to do best than taking risk to explore an entirely new thing. I prefer this due to two reasons explained below.

First of all, while it is a good idea to try something new as doing a routine task can be boring and frustration. I believe that sticking to what you are best at, what you have build skills and experience over the years would be a good thing to do in order to continuously increase your productivity and avoid wasting time and resources (human and financial). Doing things that you are novice in may be detrimental to your growth and productivity as many would believe that experience is a good teacher. Take for instance, during my undergraduate days, I intern with a building services company, who have built years of experience in the residential and industrial mechanical, electrical, and plumbing services. This is a company that has rise and fall after experiencing different aspect of the field, every time there are in dilemma, they can easily refer to similar issue in the previous year, thanks to their good record keeping and root cause analysis, which makes the issue seemingly inexistence. Shockingly, this company brought an idea of exploring oil and gas services which is a totally new aspect of the field, experience of which require a lot of time, money and skills to build. This seems like a good idea but considering the factors attached to it, they decided to focus their energy on what they have build experience in over the years. If the company had tried that, they would have given their core aspect of industrial and residential services little attention as they would find it difficult to pull out of the what they have already invested in. This can lead to a total loss of money, time, reputation, and can ultimately make the company go into bankruptcy.

Second of all, taking risk and trying a new thing can damage your reputation and can eventually make you start all over again. I could remember after my compulsory one-year national service, a federal government program aimed at promoting peace in the nation, I have built the skills of using autocad for electrical building services with low and medium voltage electrical services, this is what I used t sustain and meet my daily means before securing a job. One day, I received a call from a client that he needed a design of extra low voltage, which includes CCTV camera and access control, this type of design is far from what I am good at, instead of informing the client of my expertise, I believe in myself that with little trials and trainings, I would be able to come up with a good design within the specified timeframe. I gave it a trial and came up with something relative to my crude experience in this design. Although, I meet the time required by the client and I have added some skills to the skillset, but the design I came up with was below standard and specification. This made the client not responds to my subsequent mail, the effect of this was that, as I didn’t inform the client where my expertise lies, he would never know my strength and believe that I am a substandard designer. If such client has a design relative to my skills, he wouldn’t have taught of me because he would believe that all my skills are not captivating. Aside from damaging my reputation in front of the client, I also lost a potential customer.

In conclusion, from the examples and explanation above, I believe that it is better to continuously do what you are good at rather than taking risks of exploring new field.