One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Some people are of the opinion that teenage children should not be prompt to take up a part-time job partly because it may distract them from focusing on their career ambition. However, in my opinion, I believe that parents should facilitate their young children to engage in a part-time job for the following two reasons.

First of all, children should be encouraged to take up part-time jobs in preparing for adult because, part-time job instill some sense of responsibility and the spirit of dependability on the children at that young age. For example, a child that engage with part-time activities together their daily activities like studies and all would be more mature in their thinking that student than student that do not. This is due to the exposure and interaction with many people from different background and experience. In contrast, children that only focus on their day-to-day activities would be limited in their thinking. Research has shown that children that grow up without parent and take up the challenge of taking up part-time job to cater for themselves and their immediate sibling, end up being better place in the future than student that rely solely on their parent to provide their means of survival. These children build the spirit of dependability and self-sufficiency while trying to survive alone. They can make a prompt decision on matter related to their future with little or no consultation from people around them. With this kind of additional trait, I believe children whose parent are alive should be encouraged by their parent to take-up part time jobs in order to be self sufficient at that early stage of their career.

Second of all, another reason why it is best for parents to admonish their teenage children to engaged in part-time job to prepare them for adulthood is that part-time jobs is an avenue for the teenagers to be able to start building their profile in terms of work experience. Work experience would place the children in good standing in a competitive environment as against children without experience. It is clear nowadays that recruiters value experience over academic excellence because they would rather go for an employee that have a certain skill rather than investing on an employee training. If children are encouraged to take up part time jobs, their would gain relevant work experience over their pairs that only focus on academic excellence. For example, I started teaching jobs immediately after my high school, I tutored basic level students and some junior school children to keep my intelligence fresh before entering university. This teaching experience, irrespective of how seemingly insignificant it may be then, helped me in great deal in my university career. I organized tutorial classes for my colleagues as well as lower-level students, which serves as a revision to prepare for semester examination. This skill instills a sense of confidence in me to publicly speak irrespective of the gathering. If I had engaged in a more technical part time job at that time, I would have also retained the skills throughout my career. So, engaging in part time jobs is an opportunity for teenager to gain relevant experience to prepare them for adulthood.

In conclusion, with the above two reasons, I strongly believe that it is important for parents to encourage their children to take up part time jobs.