Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

People hold differing opinion on whether parents should motivate their children to start part-time works. Some people believe that parents should not encourage their kids to get involved in part-time jobs since it will be an extra burden for them. However, I totally agree with the prompt that parents should influence their children to start working even in part-time jobs for the following three reasons.

First of all, getting involved in a part-time job from an early age will help the youngster to develop new skills which will help them to flourish their future career. For instance, when I was in school, my parents motivated me to start essay writing for a local newspaper. Whenever I got spare time, I used to write funny essays for the newspaper. This particular work helped me a lot to strengthen my writing skill. As a consequence, after graduation, I started to work as an editor in a famous newspaper company. I would have not get the job if I didn't write essay from my childhood.

Secondly, a part-time job can help us to earn some extra money, which can be saved for future use. For example, my friend Tom wanted to work in restaurant after school, and his parents also supported his decision. He was able to earn ten dollar each day and saved the money in the bank. Five years later, he bought his long desired by-cycle by his own earned money. This made him confidant and self-depended.

Finally, engaging in different types of work from childhood can teach us to become independent, and assist us to overcome challenges we might encounter in future endeavors. Take my experience as an example, when I was in school, I also worked in a restaurant as a helper of chief sheaf. Gradually, I learned a lot about cooking while doing the job. Few years later, I had to move from my home to the city to study in the University. I had to cook and take care of myself there, but I was never worried since I knew about cooking and other basic tasks. All of my previous experiences made me competent to fulfil my daily obligations and made me independent.

To sum up, I definitely agree that parents should encourage their kids to start part-time jobs because children can develop new skills, earn money, and become independent.