Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Concerning the issue of whether young people participate and help in different community work, people hold different opinion. Some people believe that teenagers are nowadays reluctant to indulge into community works since they are addicted to technological devices and remain isolated from the community. However, I strongly agree with the statement that young people help their community for following two reasons.

First of all, young people are more connected and open minded to participate in community works because of technological advancement. People are connected with each other throughout the world and are interested to do community work whenever they find people of the other part of the world doing something good for their community. Take the example of recent Covid-19 pandemic, which affected the people of almost every country of the world. Through social media, I found that many young people are making teams and doing different sort of works voluntarily to help their community people. Immediately, I made a team of four with my friends and started to distribute hand sanitizer, musk, and awareness leaflet to my community people. This activity indeed strengthen our bond and brotherhood, thanks to the advancement of the technology which motivated us to do so.

Furthermore, Many schools nowadays require mandatory participation in community work to graduate. For this reasons, young people are more involved in the community work instead of wasting their time doing unnecessary works. For instance, when I was in school, our school used to arrange community cleaning program every month. Though students only need to participate once, I loved to participate every month. My friends also participated every month because we were able to communicate more with our community people, and they also loved us so much. Gradually we also involved into different types of works such as blood donation, medical camp, awareness campaign etc. If our school didn't made the community work as a mandatory requirement, we might not be participated in community works.

In conclusion, young people are spending more of their time in doing community works because they become motivated by following other's work through technology and many schools require mandatory community work participation.