In today’s world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

Some people believe that it is more favorable to work in haste and risk making mistakes than working with patience and ensure that everything is right partly because of the bulkiness of the works on their table. However, for me, I believe that it is much more advantageous to work with ease and ensure that everything is correct for the following two reasons.

First of all, it is better to work slowly and ensure that everything is correct than working in haste because, working in haste can lead to rework which is a poor indication of lack of expertise. Re-doing a seemingly completed work leads to lose of additional time and cost. For example, for a maintenance engineer, he required proper planning to carry out a maintenance activity such as making available all the required drawing for the tasks, carry-out all risk associated with the job, identify the number of manpower needed, and the cost involve to achieve a perfect task. If this engineer now decided to neglect all these planning step and rashly carry-out the task without a complete planning, the engineer would risk lost of initial cost of implementation which is not always a low cost and also risk loss of manhour, which is a major asset in a maintenance firm. It may count as double work as the cost and time required for the task would be doubled. Unlike if all the necessary plan is done with patience, the task would be completed with any cost and time risk even though it may take a little more time compare to if it is done rashly. So, in order to avoid rework which would leads to risk of doubling the cost and time required for the task, it is better to patiently do the task and ensure that everything is correct.

Second of all, carrying out a task in haste may have a negative effect on the doer’s reputation and image unlike if the task is done patiently. Risking making mistakes after you might have completed a task would make you feel like an unconcentrated and lackadaisical employee in front of your boss or client which may give you a bad name in front of them, even if you are the best employee at what you do. I remember a scenario in a book I read, where a new laboratory scientist risk making mistake in her first attempt to carrying out analysis. Rather than meticulously doing the test and get the optimum result possible, she decided to rashly carry-out the titration which leads to a lot of loss for the lab. Since then, she is always introduced by her boss to any visitor as the unconcentrated scientist. Her rashness to solve problem leads to a bad reputation for her and her boss don’t really give her precedence when it comes to performing the task. Therefore, hastily doing work and risk making mistakes can have a negative impact on one’s reputation.

In conclusion, with the aforementioned reasons, it is more beneficial to avoid mistakes by working slowly and make sure that everything is correct