The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

The argument is able to convince people having different point of views can be considered as powerful. But the ability of the the argument cannot be judged solely on the basis of the convincing ability. Many times people are obdurate to get convinced by the explanation presented to them. I would like explain this in the following essay.

First and foremost, the religious views are inculcated in the person from the childhood time thus, making person understand some different views is very difficult. The religious views are based on beliefs and not on the facts. So, the reasoning does not sound logical to the person having his own religious thoughts. In such situations changing viewpoint of a person is nearly impossible and thus, does not depend upon whether the argument made is convincing or not.

Besides this, political views of the opposing party are also very difficult to change. The opposition party abolishes idea presented as they are supposed to do so. In such situations it very difficult to convince them and it generally ends up in arguments rather then having any discussion. Therefore, convincing the opposition party does not depend on the content of the argument but how cleverly the argument is represented to them.

Thus, if the argument is not able to convince the opposing group of people it does not mean that the argument is not convincing enough or poorly presented. Sometimes, the people are very adamant to understand other's point of view. Other times it is the way of representation of the argument which is important to convince some people.