According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic en

The passage concludes that college and universities should adopt honor code as followed by Groveton College. The author highlights the benefits of adopting the honor code based on some and reports of Groveton College. According to arguer cheating has reduced to lower level in Groveton College after implementing honor code. Thus, this will also help to lower cheating among other college and universities. While at first reading the argument seems quite conceivable, a closer look spells out a number of assumptions that could undermine its assessment.

Firstly, the author states that over the period of time cheating rate in Groveton College has reduced significantly. He further tells that students took oath not to do cheating and also to apprise faculty member in case they find someone doing it. It may be the case that students are not following this honor code religiously, and they are not reporting the case of cheating to their teachers. Perhaps students are making some sort of agreement within themselves to help each other in examinations. If not all students are reporting the cheating, then the honor code is not reliable method to avoid it in examinations. Moreover, faculty may not be very alert in class during examinations as they may be relying on students to inform about the cheating. Thus, there is no guarantee that honor code is working properly and should be implemented by other college and universities too. In my opinion, before doing so a thorough survey should be done.

Secondly, report suggests that in first year twenty-one cases of cheating were reported while after five years the cases have reduced to fourteen. This cannot be taken as solid evidence to adopt the honor code widely by the other college and universities. Perhaps earlier students were taking the honor code seriously and over the period of time they started taking it for granted. Depending so much on students in such situation is not a wise idea. Maybe students are taking advantage of this reliability. The decrease in reports maybe due to the help students are providing to each other.

Lastly, the arguer talks about a recent survey in which majority of Groveton students have promoted the honor code. This survey indicates that students do not want to loose this type of arrangement made during examinations.This survey would be more considerate if it includes comment from faculty as well. Additionally, it is nowhere mentioned in the report whether number of cheating cases reported, are informed by students or teachers. This is an important question to be answered. As the author is assuming that the cases are apprised by the students. Here, assumptions should not be made and more clear argument should be provided. This will help to know whether honor code is a trustworthy way to lower cheating cases or not.

To conclude, though author has done some research before backing the prospect of adopting honor code widely by college and universities, an in-depth scrutiny reveals that none of the arguments put forth are backed by exhaustive analysis; thus, providing little credible support. As it stands, the recommendation looks flawed in multiple respects and may not give result the author expects.