Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidane for students.Reason: College students-like people in general-prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decis

Youngsters are future of a nation. Their education is an important aspect and contributes in the progress of society and nation. It is a constant topic of debate among students and college administrations whether elective courses should be offered to students or should be eliminated, so that students will not face any confusion in making decision regarding the choice of subjects to be taken. I personally believe that variety of subjects should be provided to students. There are certain reasons to it which I am going to explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, elective courses give chance to students to choose subjects according to their interest. Students should not be made to study subjects according to the college specified courses, as these courses decide their career. Hence, in this matter it is important that they are decision maker. For example, if colleges eliminate elective courses than students would become bound to study the course defined by college. In such case, it may happen that a student who has penchant towards journalism and mass communication course, will end up studying engineering. Thus, he may not get satisfied in his job life. This may result in frustration in the professional front. The variety of courses give them chance to make choice in which they wanted to pursue their career.

Besides this, college student are at a stage where they know which subjects are of their interest. Accordingly, they can take decision. Moreover, they are the one who has to do job after completion of the course, if they are happy than they can do better in the future, as they will put their heart and soul in it. However, if limited courses are available than they may take course in which they will not be able to give their best. Thus, they may not be able t score good marks in the examinations and situation may become difficult in finding the job. In case, they find a job they may not be able to carry the job related tasks wholeheartedly. In this way it will be difficult for society to progress.

Last but not the least, statement given that generally people like to follow instructions rather than making their own decision cannot be applied for all. There are many people who are dominating and don't like to follow directions given to them. However, there are people who are submissive in nature. They will follow all the instructions given to them without giving much thought about the consequences. A dominating person will make his own path and by following his own directions. Likewise, students should be given freedom to make their choice regarding the subjects and career. In this way they will learn to make decisions on their own and can think rationally regarding any mater of life. Which is very important thing to learn, as parents or teachers cannot help in making decision at every turn of life.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate my point that students should be given fair chance to decide their courses and thus, should not be eliminated. Not all people like to follow the instructions, so general comment should not be made.