Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidane for students.

Reason: College students-like people in general-prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

The statment contends that colleges and universitites should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students. To bolster the above argument, it has been said that college students-like people in general-prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions. However a generalization of the above argument may seem true but in context of college students looks quite flawed. Students should be allowed to make their own choices.

Students should be allowed to choose elective courses and not everyone should be forced to study the same subjects. Different students have different needs and interests. They should be allowed to study subject that takes into consideration those interests. If a student has an interest in history, he/she should be allowed to choose the subject as an elective rather than forced to study biology, for instance. Allowing students to choose their own elective subjects helps nuture their interest and gives a better understanding of the subject and perhaps the world. Forcing someone to study a subject outside their interest will not only generate dislike for the subject but also nullify the purpose of teaching that subject.

If students are allowed to pick their own courses, it is bound to increase their chances of employability. A student have much interest in machine learning will delve deeper into that subject thereby not just nuturing the interest of the student but also improving his/her knowledge regarding the subject, that will in turn help their chances of finding a job in that domain. This would have not been the case had they been forced to study astronomy. To support this argument, it has been seen that employers tend to hire a student having deeper understanding of a particular field than a student having a basic understanding of all the fields.

Although some argue that college and universitites should specify all required courses because generally college students do not have the maturity to make a life decision. They have no knowledge regarding the market statistics when it comes to finding job. By not allowing them to choose their own courses, universities can impart a basic and well detailed education to all the students. The argument provided is true to some extent. Students generally don't have much idea regarding the future prospects of a field but universities should also provide appropriate help and support to their students. They should be guided properly before allowing them to choose their own elective courses.

Another solution to the above argument is that students should be allowed to choose some elective course and should be made to study some compulsory subjects. By this, the student not only develops more interest in their choosen elective field but also gets a better and global understanding of other subjects as well.

In sum, college students should be given the freedom to choose their own elective courses that helps in their better development. Colleges and universities should not just dictate their rules and force everyone to study the same subject. Although the generalization that people like to follow directions than make their own decision could be true in case of general people but it should not be blindly applied to college students as well.