The following is a part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

“Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems.”

The following memorandum from the president of Humana University contends that Humana should immediately create and actively promote online degree programs like those at the nearby Omni University. To argue for the same, the memo says that Omni University has seen an increase in enrollment by 50 percent in online degree programs which has led to decrease in expenditures for dormitories and classroom spaces. It has also been said that the enrollment has been decreasing constantly for the past three years and the expeditures have increased as has the budget deficit. However, careful consideration of the provided facts lead to unsubstantiated claims and thus do not support the conclusion.

The statement posits that there was a 50 percent increase in the enrollment of online degree programs provided by nearby Omni University. But percentage increase is a relative quantity which cannot be enough to conclude anything. For instance, if the students enrolled in online course for last year at Omni University be 100, so a 50 percent increase in that would mean an enrollment of 150 students for this year. But if the enrollment of Humana Univeristy is 1000,a 10% consistent decrease for three years would mean decrease of enrollment to 729 students which is still a far bigger number than 150. Without providing more details regarding the enrollment statistics, it is difficult to say whether online courses are more successful and popular than classroom teaching.

The author neither provides details regarding the online courses provided by Omni Univeristy, nor does it provide the same for Humana University. It is possible that Omni Univeristy provides online courses in humanities whereas Humana Univeristy is an enginnering university where teaching and learning through online courses can be comparitively more difficult. Thus, in such a case providing online courses like Omni Univeristy is rather a decision made in haste.

The memo also says that there has consistently been a decrease in the enrollment of students at Humana University for three years which could suggest that the teaching quality of Humana is degrading. Students tend to choose another university if the teaching pedagogy and culture of a university is not good. In such a case it would be beneficial if Humana University focuses more on improving its education system rather than blindly following another university's approach.

There has been a significant increase in the expenditure of maintaining buildings at Humana University, as suggested by the memo. This could be due to a larger infrastructure at Humana than at Omni Univeristy. Because Omni provides online courses, it is possible that they have minimal infrastructure as compared to that of Humana Univeristy. And as mentioned, online courses do not require the use of classrooms and dormitories thereby providing online courses will not help in decreasing the cost of maintaining the infrastructure because they will go unused. Thus claiming that budget problems will be solved by providing online courses is not supported by the provided facts.

In conclusion, the memo suggesting the immediate need for creation and advertisment of online courses by Humana University cannot be concluded unless more facts are provided. Without details regarding the enrollment statistics and other budget details, it is diffcult to support the conclusion of the memo.