A/D: Playing computer games is a waste of time and children should not be allowed to play them.

The statement contends that playing computer games is a clear waste of time and children should not be allowed to play them. Although, the statement only provides one reasoning for the conclusion, a thorough assessment of the statement does not support the it. Children should not be prohibited from playing computer games, rather should be encouraged.

Computer games provide children with a unique and varied experience that they might not get in real life. For an overall development, a child needs to have such different experiences. For instance, a football computer game like the FIFA series allow the children to participate in football tournaments by making their own teams with players they would like to see in their team. They can manipulate the player's decisions and help in developing a strategy for the team. This not only allows a child to get an experience of managing a football team which is not possible in real life but also helps in developing team building and strategy making habits of the child.

Although, most supporters of the statement argue that one side effect of playing computer games can be addiction which have been seen to inculcate comparitively more destructive habits in children than the good ones. The argument provided is absolutely true, but one can monitor a child's change in habits and prevent them from going in the wrong direction. For example, if a child playing a computer game suddenly displays aggressive traits, then corrective actions can be taken to prevent them from happening again.

In sum, the statement's conclusion that children should not be allowed to play computer games because it is a waste of time is unsubstantiated. A thorough analysis reveals that computer games can sometimes be more constructive than destructive. For a child's overall development, he/she needs to have experiences that are not available in real life so easily. Allowing them to experience such situations help in inculcating some better habits like team building and strategy development.