Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

The statement contends that technology is responsible for less creativity in children today. Although, some may disagree, I believe that that statement is absolutely correct. The children in the past were much more creative than they are today.

Children develop creativity in them by thinking over a problem they may face or indulging in newer experiences and interests that they have never been exposed to. With the advancement of technology and easier access to more information, children no longer seek to think thoroughly and thus creatively about the possible solutions to a given problem. Rather, they use the internet to search for already existing solutions. This not only hampers the development of creativity in children but also makes them more dependent on the technology. Today's parents also have the same mentality which encourages the children to seek existing solutions than think for better and creative solutions.

With the increase of technology in our surroundings and their easy access, present-day children have less time to indulge in other physical or mental activities. For instance, a child would rather play a video game or watch TV during his/her free time than learn a new sport or activity like football or painting that has better chances of developing creativity in the child. Such was not the case in the past. Children did not have such advanced technology and easy access to them, hence, they were forced to participate in more productive activities like reading a book or learning a sport, etc. Lack of extracurricular activity in the child's spare time is the main cause of declining creativity in today's children.

Although, some argue that with the advancement of technology, we have better access to each other's ideas and better communication systems that help in sharing ideas and concepts. This sharing of ideas not only helps a person get a better perspective of someone else's point of view but also forces them to think in another direction. The argument seems true, but the proponents of this argument fail to recognize the inherent assumption. The assumption that the side effects of using technology have little to no effect on children. Agreed, they might use technology for spreading ideas but the amount of time spent in doing that is a very small portion of the overall time spent on using the technology.

In conclusion, I believe that technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.