The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

The statement contends that today's extended family - grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles - are less important than they were in the past. Although, some may disagree, a thorough analysis of the statement from all angles has led me to believe in the opposite. According to me, the extended family is more or equally and not less important in today's time than it was in the past.

Due to the advancement of technology and social media, we are now more close to our extended family than we ever have been before. Earlier, communication was limited by the speed of transporting letters and a visit to relatives living in another city or perhaphs, another country, required extensive and uncomfortable travel by ships. But the introduction of telephones and video chats coupled its ubiquitous nature has allowed us to connect to people living on any part of the planet in a matter of seconds. Also, with the advancements in travel like faster airplanes, railways, etc, the travel time which was earlier calculated in weeks or months has now reduced to a matter of hours. One can travel from one point on the planet to a diametrically opposite point in a day's time. This has made us more closer to our extended family, contrary to the statement's claim.

The importance of our extended family members have not decreased than its past value. Each and every family member plays an important role in our lives. For instance, grandparents still recall their past tales and entertain us with their humour. They are also vital in teaching us society's culture and moral definitions. Cousins help us during our difficult times. They provide us with moral support and courage that is required from a family member, which cannot be provided by our friends. Aunts and uncles, as I fondly recall have bought me material gifts that I always pined for. Similary, each and every family member in today's world, irrespective of thier closeness have an important role in our lives. Thus, it is rather presumptuous to conclude that the importance of extended family mebers have decreased.

Although, some who disagree, argue that today's urban families are becoming more and more separate and no longer like to live together unlike the past. This has caused family members to grow apart and independent of each other which has reduced their importance in our lives. However, the proponents of this argument fail to take into account the ratio of such urban families' ratio to all the families. If we take a look at the current statistics we'll realize that families have not grown apart, rather come together more than ever before.

In conclusion, the statement's claim that the importance of extended family memebers have decreased and not increased is unsupported. A close analysis reveals the opposite. The importance of extended family had increased or remained equal and not decreased than it was in the past.