It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

The statement contends that it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new ones. Although, some may disagree, a thorough analysis of the statement from all angles leads me to believe that keeping your old friends is equally important to make new friends. A person cannot grow without making new connections while nourishing the old ones.

Keeping your old friends is very important. Old friends have stayed with you for a long time and provided support to you during your hard times. Thus, it is very important to acknowledge their support and nourish such relations. For instance, I recall the time I was going through a hard time financially. My friend, however, provided me with food and supplies by the time I was financially stable again. I not only repayed every penny but this also helped us make our friendship more deeper and meaningful. I would never forget his contribution and support. Thus, it is very important to keep your old friends.

Making new friends is equally important because by making new friends, a person learns new values, culture and knowledge. This helps in a faster and better growth of an individual, because it provides the individual with a better outside perspective which is necessary for overall development. For example, people travel to different places to study or in search of work. They are alien to the place's functioning and culture. Hence, making new friends helps you become familiar with your surroundings and live better lives.

Although, some who disagree argue that it is more important to show loyalty to one's old friends than make new ones. The old friends have been with you for so long and deserve a person's loyalty. However, the proponents of the argument fail to recognize and hence, correct their inherent assumption. They are blindly assuming that making new friends respresents disloyalty to one's old friends. Had you not made new friends you wouldn't have become friends with your current group of friends. Their argument is contradictory and cannot be accepted as a valid reason.

In conclusion, the statement wrongly posits that keeping your old friends is more important than making new ones. Making new friends is required for an individual's growth.