TPO-11 - Integrated Writing Task A recent study reveals that people especially young people are reading far less literature,novels, plays, and poems,than they used to. This is troubling because the trend has unfortunate effects for the reading public, for

The article states that people, especially young people, are reading far less literature - novels, plays and poems, than they used to. The article provides three reasons to support the same. The speaker, however disagrees with the article and refutes each of the reasons provided.

First, the article says that there has been a sharp decline in book reading and it is unfortunate because literature is responsible for providing us the intellectual stimulation that cannot be provided by any other form. The speaker refutes this point by saying that something does not have to be literature to be stimulating enough. She provides examples of history, science and others that can be equally stimulating. Thus, the speaker concludes that claiming literature to be the only intellectually demanding experience is rather presumptuous of the article.

Second, the article posits that the level of culture in general has been on the decline. To bolster the argument, the article argues that since people are not reading literature they're reading self-help books that are superficially, poorly written, and are not intellectually demanding. The speaker expresses her disapproval of the statement by saying that spending less time with literature does not necessarily mean that the level of culture is declining. There are many other forms of entertainment like listening to music or watching a movie. The speaker argues that listening to a stimulating music or watching a captivating movie is not a waste of time, and thus, concludes that the level of culture has not lowered.

Third, the reading states that this decline in reading is more regrettable because it is taking place in a time when good literature is being written. The speaker contradicts the argument by saying that the author is more at fault than the reader. The speaker goes on to say that modern literature is more difficult to understand. Thus, the speaker argues that the decline in reading is not due to poor standards of today's readers but instead could attributed to a fault of the author.

In conclusion, the speaker does not agree with the article and provides convincing arguments to defend her claims.