It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

The statment contends that it is better to have a broader knowledge of several academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Although, some may disagree, a thorough analysis of the statement from all angles convinces me that having a broader knowledge of many subject can be more advantageous than specializing in one specific subject.

Studying many academic subject helps you get a basic understanding of how most things work in life. Whereas, specializing in one specific subject makes you aware of only that field. Having a basic understanding of many subjects will mean having better opportunities to switch jobs if one doesn't work out. However, if you have knowledge of one one specific are, you are expected to work in only that area and not any other area. For instance, if a person studies astronomy with biology, he/she has a better chance to switch careers than a person who has specialized in only mathematics.

Having a better understanding of many subjects can be exploited during times to difficulty. A concept of one subject can be applied as a solution to a diffiulty of another subject, provided one has the knowledge of other areas. For example, recently, the mayor of Baltimore applied business skills to solve governance problem in his constituency. MBWA, which loosely translates to Managing Business by Wandering Around. In this technique, owners and managers go around talking to their customers. It is a business concept applied by business owners and managers to better understand the needs and requirements of their consumers. The mayor of Baltimore, applied this concept by travelling in public transports, moving around the city, talking to the public regarding their difficulty, etc. By applying this management concept he was able to identify the needs of the public and improve the governance in his city. Had he not been aware of this concept he would have not been able to solve the problem so easily.

Although, some who disagree posit the argument that by studying many academic subjects, a person is only touching the surface of a subject and not going into the depths of it, which is required to do research in the field. Thus, they conlcude that encouraging multiple subjects rather than a specific one prohibits reseach that could lead to technological advancements in the field. The proponents of the argument are forgetting that many people like to do reseach regarding a particular field only, thus they specialize in those areas. Thus, this statement does not force everyone to study multiple subject but is rather an argument suggesting why studying multiple subjects could be better.

In conclusion, the statement rightly contends that it is better to have a better understanding of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. By doing so, they understand the basic working of many natural and real life phenomenas. It also helps them to identify a concept's applicability in some another subject.