When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

The school is a place where students learn many things apart from formal education imparted to them. A child comes across many activities that become his/her area of interest such as drawing, music, sports etc.. If the school does not have enough budget or lacks the proper number of teachers then I believe that physical education classes should be removed first from the curriculum of the students rather then eliminating music and art classes. There are reasons to this which I would like explore in the essay.

First, I believe that physical education classes are not very necessary to be part of the time-table of the students. The reason to this is children don't need any classes to do exercise as they already play a lot after going home from the school. I would like to explain this with the help of an example. I have younger cousins who always prefer playing outside over doing some art work at home. They do cycling, swimming or playing games with their friends. All kids have penchant towards doing outdoor activities or playing games. Thus, it can be said that the physical education classes can be removed.

Secondly, I think that children need proper guidance in courses like art and music. In contrary, same may not be true with physical education. They cannot prepare for art or music on their own as there should be someone who can teach them how to practice it. Moreover, the classes for art or music can be costly outside which may not be afforded by every parent. A child who is good in singing might not be able to develop the skills properly as the classes are not available in the school and he cannot afford them on his own. Thus, these classes should be available in the school.

Lastly, I would like to say that if school does not have courses like arts children may never know that they interest in these things. They will not be able to develop liking towards such activities. Their talent will remain dormant due to lack of knowledge about these activities as school is the first place where children come to know about their liking or disliking with the aid of such courses.

To sum up, the physical education classes should be dropped instead of art and music classes if the school is lacking in funding or teachers.