Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

History is collection of past events. It not only tells us about past events but also cause and impact of events. I believe that though, the world have immensely changed and become more complicated than past, knowing history always help us to understand important events which in turn help in making decisions. I would like to explore this in the following essay.

First and foremost, past gives lots of important information be it any field such as medicine, literature, mathematics, business etc. For example, knowing past patterns in stock market helps economist to make conjecture regarding profit or loss in business. Moreover, many medical treatments are advancement of past research and development. Therefore, it is clear that information from history plays vital role in today's world.

Besides this, the horrendous decisions of past prevents the world from making same mistake again. We all know the result of the use of atom bombs in Japan and its aftermath. This desolate event curtails many countries from using the nuclear weapons again as we all are aware of its consequences. Additionally, study of history helps leaders to avoid dictatorship and also empowers people to revolt against it. Hence, in making decisions history plays significant role.

Last but not the least, advancement in technology is outcome of past. Early man made invention of weapons and thus, next generations made progress in it. Also, the invention of wheel became basis of today's development in the transport. There are many such examples which proves that development and progress is the result of knowledge from past.

To conclude, from aforementioned examples it is clear that study of history helps in making important decisions.