The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books. "We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

The Board of Directors of Monarch Books have suggested to open a cafe in the store. So that the store can compete better with the Regal Books which had recently opened a cafe. At first glance the idea given seems to be convincing but when given deep thought there are many loopholes in the recommendation which is not taken into consideration by the Directors.

Firstly, the cafe in the store may not be able to increase the profit of the Monarch Books as the author has not provided any figure that indicates that there is increase in the sale of books in the Regal Bookstore. In case Regal Books has profited from the idea, there is no surety that same will happen in the Monarch Books. Moreover, the location of the book store should be taken into consideration. The Regal Books may be located near by a college campus. This reason justifies crowd in the store as the students are of experimental nature. This may not be the case with the Monarch Books. So, the profit of the Regal Books should be taken into consideration in order to have clear picture regarding the sale increase and thus, making sure that copying the idea will work for the Monarch Books too.

Secondly, Directors posits that children's section should be removed from the store. As it will provide space for the cafe. This is mentioned on the basis of a survey held recently which indicates that there is population decrease of the children who are under age ten. But, the year of survey is not mentioned in the letter. Additionally, no information is provided regarding the area surveyed. It may be possible that the number of children in the area of survey are less. Thus, without clear information, the survey can be considered as null and thereby, cannot be taken seriously to form basis for changes in the bookstore. The removal of children's section may decrease the popularity of the store and also there are chances of dip in number of customers.

Lastly, the Monarch Books are popular for the quality of the books available in the shop and due to this reason there are large number of customers of the store from past twenty years. The author of the letter should pay attention in increasing the number of qualitative books to attract more customers for which store is famous. This will surely increase the sale of the books and ultimately the profit will increase.

To conclude, there are many reasons which proves that there many serious issues with the recommendation. The cafe in the store may only contribute to crowd in the store and this may result in decrease of genuine buyers. Also, the store might not be able to recover expenses incurred in the construction of the cafe. Resulting in the loss of the shop instead of making any profits.