The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books. "We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the prospects of opening a cafe are sure to excite the Board of Directors of Monarch Books and diversify the store's value proposition, it is imperative to inspect each assumption made in approving such a drastic business alteration. The Board allowed an abundance of propitious logic guide their decision regarding the prospective cafe installation without asking the right questions: is it, in fact, the wide selection of books that has made Monarch Books so popular over the past 20 years? How can we be sure that opening a cafe will attract more customers? Why is such a large business decision being made over one national census regarding age?

To begin, the Board attributes Monarch Books wild success over the past two decades to the wide amalgm of book selection. While it is safe to assume it did not hurt the business, it is an extrapolation from proper business inferences. How many other book stores are in the area? What does the infrastructure surrounding Monarch Books look like? Is the store located near particular main roads? Perhaps the Company is fixed near a University? It is vital to thoroughly check every possible reason for Monarch Book's long tenured success.

Further, it is assumed that the cafe would attract more customers. Such an outlandish assumption could quickly evolve into an egregious error for a company. Why would a cafe draw more customers in? Are there any other competing cafes in the area? Perhaps valued customers were drawn to the once quiet bookstore that was Monarch Books, only to move business elsewhere as a result of the clamoring of a new cafe. Asking questions such as why a cafe would bring in more business is important in deciding whether a cafe is the right route for Monarch Books to take.

Lastly, the Board assumes that children's books will become less popular due to a national consensus that suggested there would be a decline in the percentage of the population under the age of ten. This is a fair claim by the consensus: baby boomers are aging, and women are waiting longer than ever to have children in order to focus on their career aspirations. Before replacing the children's section with a cafe, the break down of revenue by book category needs to be thoroughly examined. Although the population may decline, if the category accumulates a significant portion of total income, it may make sense to keep that area of the store alive. Further, the Board must ask themselves how much faith they have in such a consensus. Polling and statistical errors have been brought to light in recent headlines. Once upon a time, Donald Trump becoming President was a statistical anomaly. One could only imagine the words President Trump might have to say about polling errors. Basing such a business move on one census report seems trivial and more questions need to be asked.

Opening a cafe may be the right move for Monarch Books, but it may not be. The Board of Directors needs to ask thoughtful questions on the insights related to Monarch Book's success before making such lackadasical inferences that will guide future business.