There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of this prompt hypothesizes that inhabitants of smaller cities (e.g. Leeville) lead more relaxed lifestyles; as a result, the residents live longer and are healthier. Indeed smaller cities may carry the stigma of being leisurely, but the writer relies on abstract deductions from generalized statements to embolden his/her point. Supporting statements must be insightful and factual.

One of the supporting arguments for the case of healthier citizens in Leeville was their average age juxtaposed to their urban counterparts in Masontown. While the age was higher, the assumption relies on the basis that average age correlates with average life span. This is a fellatious presumption as it does not relate to the health of citizens. Citygoers may hold longer life spans than their small city constituents. Alternatively, this data point shows that the average inhabitant of Leeville is older than Masontown. This is not uncommon as more young adults are opting to live in urban centers. Cities are notorious for better nightlife, longer hours and more activities. Recent college grads flock to larger cities in search for a fun, active lifestyle. Leeville may boast a longer life expectancy, which would point towards healthier lifestyles, but the average age of it's citizens does not directly support such a claim.

Further, the writer argues that Leeville only has one physicians per one thousand residents (compared to Masonton's number which is five times higher). Perhaps incorrectly, this leads the reader to believe that less doctors are necessary. Leeville may be understaffed in the medical field, forcing residents to drive to neighboring cities for the support they need. Also, Masonton likely has a larger concentration of unique ailments. Doctors with particular specialties will find more business working in city centers such as Masonton. As stated in the paragraph above, college grads tend to migrate to cities after graduation. The same applies to doctors. Many will do research in a large, urban hospital in hopes of potentially working full-time. The lack of physicians in Leeville may correlate with better health, but without meaningful facts to support the statement, it is indeterminable.

Lastly, the author argues that the workers in Leeville report fewer sick days than that of Masonton. He/she points out that Leeville is a smaller town. If Leeville is rural than the majority of workers may be sustainence farmers. Sustainence farmers can not afford to take sick days because if they don't work, they don't eat. Alternatively, carcinogens and ailments can spread much faster in concentrated areas such as an urban city. In that regard, smaller cities fare much better. This may point to more short-term illnesses, but does not support anything regarding long-term health.

Many may agree that smaller towns lead more laid back lifestyles that are less stressful. Irregardless, the author does not elaborate well enough on his/her points to effectively argue this case.